Owner-authorized historical source collection
Nairobi KSh213 million payments case: Kidero acquitted; Osiro put on defence
- Public funds and procurement
- Court reporting
- Decision issued
Owner-authorized historical notes, prepared with AI assistance. They were NOT personally reviewed by an activated REKODI publisher and are not publisher-approved court records or signed editorial releases. The project owner authorized this finite batch on 26 October 2026.
Each entry states its checking date and limits. Earlier research dates of 20–24 October are retained; the Gemini additions received targeted source checks on 26 October. These are not complete certified docket searches. An allegation is not a finding of guilt, and a historical sentence does not prove present custody.
Case text: English source summary.
- Incident date
- Not stated in this record
- Court decision date
- [4]
- Latest dated development
- Not stated in this record
- First published on REKODI
- Record wording updated
Date metadata is annotated from the cited research and record text. It does not imply a fresh docket check. Source publication dates, incident dates and court decisions describe different events.
Summary
On 6 November 2025 the anti-corruption court acquitted former Nairobi Governor Evans Kidero in the KSh213 million payments prosecution. The Star and Eastleigh Voice identify former county official Stephen Ogago Osiro as the defendant put on his defence. Being placed on defence is not a conviction; Osiro is presumed innocent. Reports differ in how they count the other acquitted defendants, so this note does not adopt an aggregate count.
Outcome and procedural limits
Kidero was acquitted at the no-case-to-answer stage. Osiro alone was reported put on his defence. The signed order and any later disposition of Osiro’s case or appeal have not been retrieved; no outcome is inferred for a different prosecution.
Source checking and limits
The Star and Eastleigh Voice reports were compared on 26 October 2026. Their common defendant-specific account is used; their aggregate counts are not reconciled. This is not a certified docket search, and the signed order was not retrieved.
Source/status check date
What the record establishes
- The cited source records the dated event or proceeding described in this summary; attribution and limits form part of the record.
What it does not establish
- Do not confuse the KES 213m case with separate KES 58/68m legal-fee prosecution, Kiamba unexplained-assets litigation or phantom-office-supplies case.
Public sources and attribution
- [1] Kenya Law / High Court: 2019-05-10: https://new.kenyalaw.org/akn/ke/judgment/kehc/2019/11401/eng%402019-05-10/source
Court document ·
- [2] Citizen Digital: 2025-11-06: https://citizen.digital/article/former-nairobi-governor-evans-kidero-acquitted-in-ksh213-m-graft-case-n372573
News report ·
- [3] Law and Power Kenya: 2025-11-06: https://lawandpowerkenya.com/former-gov-kidero-county-officials-ndegwa-kiamba-acquitted-in-sh-213-graft-case/
News report ·
- [4] The Star: 6 November 2025 — Kidero acquittal and Osiro defence: https://www.the-star.co.ke/news/2025-11-06-ex-governor-kidero-acquitted-in-sh213m-graft-case
News report ·
- [5] Eastleigh Voice: 6 November 2025 — defendant-specific outcomes: https://eastleighvoice.co.ke/news/236898/evans-kidero-nine-others-acquitted-in-sh213-million-corruption-case
News report ·
Public-interest scope
Preserving an attributed public record about public resources, state power or accountability, including acquittals and limits on allegations. An investigation or charge alone does not prove individual guilt.
Research provenance
Original research collection (64 inputs) · Gemini collection (50 inputs)
Publication basis
Owner-authorized historical catalogue, batch authorized 2026-10-26; AI-assisted preparation.
Back to historical cases